THIRTEEN GOATS release music video for “Murder Lives In The Heart”

Capricorn Rising is Thirteen Goats' upcoming concept album and extreme metal-rock opera, set to be released next month for metalheads everywhere. Is it thrash? Death? Groove? Thirteen Goats doesn't care, and you shouldn't either. This four-piece band from Vancouver tramples over all the subgenre's conventions, creating an alchemical style of hellish riffs, huge hooks, and uniquely theatrical songwriting.

Now a music video for the single “Murder Lives in the Heart” has been released, about which lead singer and guitarist Graham K. Miles says the following:

“The song is about the nature of revenge. Revenge feels good when you've been wronged. But just because something feels good doesn't mean it's right.”

“I wrote the song after I had my heart broken, to remind myself that the pain would turn me into a monster if I let it. In the story we tell on the record, our main character Shepherd experiences this when he loses his faith in humanity and sells his soul to become the Antichrist.

“The video explores the same theme from a different perspective. It's about three women who murder the band members one by one and resurrect them into zombies. Their reasons are never shown, but we get the strong feeling that they feel justified in what they do.

“Whether it's right or wrong is up to the audience. We're not here to tell you when revenge is okay or not – but we want to show that it always has a spiritual price.”

It's been two years since the release of their debut Servants Of The Outer Dark, and the band has worked their asses off to bring back everything fans loved about that record with a vengeance – the wild guitar playing, the massive hooks, and the subtly humorous lyrics that disguise much darker and more serious themes. Two songs (including this one) also feature guest vocals from Carly Ellen Jones. Thirteen Goats is recommended for fans of Carcass, Lamb of God, and Mastodon.

“Capricorn Rising” will be released on July 12, 2024 and is available from Exitus Stratagem Records to pre-order the album at

Song list:

“Sign of the Goat”
“Murder lives in the heart”
“A wolf in shepherd’s clothing”
“Global Fuckup”
“Decapitation Zoo”
“Permission to die”
“Defeat the disease”
“War goats”
“Animal Kingdom”

“Murder lives in the heart”:

Video “Sign of the Goat”:

In other news, following their performance at this year's Armstrong Metal Fest (July 12-13), Vancouver's Thirteen Goats will embark on their first Western Canadian tour this month and August. They will headline the Planet Of The Goats Tour alongside Edmonton's Fall Of Earth.


19 – Red Deer, AB – The Tub
20 – Edmonton, AB – Starlite Room
21 – Lloydminster, SK – The Sticks
23 – Brandon, MB – Eastside Eatery
24 – Winnipeg, MB – Bulldog Event Centre
25 – Regina, SK – The Stock Exchange
26 – Lethbridge, The Disc
27 – Calgary – Lounge
31 – Kelowna, BC – Festivities

1 – Kamloops, BC – The Blue Grotto
2 – Penticton, BC – Clancy’s
3 – Vancouver, BC – The Fox Cabaret