Liam Gallagher plays surprising Noel Gallagher cover

The premiere of Liam Gallagher's Definitely maybe The 30th anniversary tour had a few surprises in store, including a cover of a song by his conspicuously absent brother Noel in the middle of the evening's setlist.

The Gallagher brothers publicly discussed a possible reunion in 2023, but in the end Noel would not be reunited with his brother Liam, who had announced that he would Definitely maybe Full length album to celebrate his anniversary.

The tour kicked off on Saturday night (June 1) at the Utlilita Arena in Sheffield, England, with Liam's unexpected cover of “Lock All the Doors” played just over halfway through the evening's set.

About “Lock All the Doors”

Today, “Lock All the Doors” is best known as a song by Noel Gallagher's High Flying Birds. It appeared on the band's second studio album, Hunting yesterdayin 2015.

The song, however, has its origins in the Oasis era. The song's chorus was originally part of a 1992 demo tape, with Noel initially struggling to complete the verse for years after giving part of the original verse to the Chemical Brothers for a song.

Liam Gallagher covers “Lock All the Doors” from Noel Gallagher’s “High Flying Birds”

Other notes from Noel

Earlier in the evening, Liam Gallagher sang the song “Half the World Away” for the first time, featuring himself as lead singer. Liam took a little dig at Noel when introducing the track. Liam went on to dedicate the song to “my little brother.” Noel is actually six years older than Liam. When a fan asked about this dedication on X, Liam replied, “He's my little brother, especially when it comes to science.”

Liam Gallagher, “Half the World Away” from Sheffield, England 2024

What did Liam Gallagher play at the opening night of the Definitely maybe 30th anniversary tour?

While the album's biggest hits featured Liam singing live, there were several songs he had never performed live before. “Shakermaker,” “Up in the Sky,” “Digsy's Diner,” “Cloudburst,” “I Will Believe,” “(It's Good) To Be Free,” and “Married With Children” all marked Gallagher's debut as a solo artist, alongside the aforementioned “Half the World Away” and “Lock All the Doors.” Gallagher also closed the evening with a cover of the Beatles' “I Am the Walrus,” which he performed for the first time as a solo artist.

READ MORE: Liam Gallagher insists he has put the Oasis reunion behind him

Check out the full setlist from below.

Setlist for the 30th anniversary of Liam Gallagher “Definitely Maybe” – June 1, 2024 in Sheffield, England

1. “Rock'n'Roll Star”
2. “Colombia”
3. “Shaker maker”
4. “Up in Heaven”
5. “Digsy’s Diner”
6. “Bring it down”
7. “Cloudburst”
8. “I will believe”
9. “Half the world away”
10. “Do you want to be an astronaut?”
11. “Fade”
12. “Lock all doors”
13. “(It is good) to be free”
14. “Whatever”
15. “Cigarettes and alcohol”
16. “Married with Children”


17. “Supersonic”
18. “Slipping away”
19. “Live forever”

Second encore

20. “I am the walrus”

A timeline of the dispute between Noel and Liam Gallagher of Oasis

Gallery credit: Chad Childers, Loudwire