Andrew Lawson triumphs at the 72nd Naughtin Open and secures the golf championship with an outstanding final round


[email protected]

Andrew Lawson recovered from a one-stroke deficit on Sunday (2 June) to win the championship flight of the 72and Naughtin Open golf tournament at Lake of the Woods.

Lawson shot a 76 in the first round, but came back with a 71 on Sunday to win by 147 points.

For the second year in a row, MS student Reis Claybrooke, a rising senior, finished second, shooting rounds of 77-73 for a 150.

Third place went to Zach Paragi (77-79) and Ben Crane (80-76) with 156 points.

First-leg winner Shane Allen was also behind heading into the final 18 holes. He shot rounds of 87 and 76 for a score of 163 and needed to make up a stroke on Sunday.

Matt McGiles (86-79) took second place with 165. Oskar Hansen (88-81) took third place with 169.

The winner of the Senior Flight was Ron Sebestik, who had to make up a 4-stroke deficit on the last 18 holes.

He had rounds of 80 and 72 for a 152.

Second place went to John Malloy (76-80) with 156. Third place went to Brian Beherns (78-81) with 159.

In the first championship round of the Senior Division, the leader went to Guy Jamison (92-81) with a score of 173. At the halfway point of the tournament, he was tied for first place with three other players.

Tom Sadler and Don Thompson share second place with 177 and identical rounds of 92-85.

The tournament attracted 46 participants for the second year in a row.